PEN Distinguished Lecture Series

The PEN Distinguished Lecture Series in Educational Neuroscience was created in association with the Foundations Proseminar course for graduate students in the Ph.D. in Educational Neuroscience (PEN) program. Since its inception, the series has grown!

The lecture series focuses on the intersection of the Science of Learning (learning across the lifespan) and Educational Neuroscience (learning across early life). Scientists and researchers who are pioneers in the fields of Cognitive-Educational Neuroscience, Developmental Cognitive Neuroscience, and Child Development come to Gallaudet University's campus to talk about their research.

Register for Upcoming Lectures

All lectures are open to the public and are video recorded for online distribution.

PEN DLS brochure for 2022-2023

Living in Pasteur’s Quadrant: Navigating the Uncharted Waters Between Basic and Applied Research

Monday, 28 September 2015

Dr. Kathryn Hirsh-Pasek
Dr. Kathryn Hirsh-Pasek is the Stanley and Debra Lefkowitz Faculty Fellow and Professor in the Department of Psychology at Temple University where she also serves as Director of the Infant Language Laboratory.

Dr. Hirsh-Pasek’s major contributions to pioneering science and Educational Neuroscience involve her discoveries about early language development, and infant language perception and cognition. In addition, her strong interest in bridging the gap between basic science research and its application for the benefit of society has prompted her to serve as an investigator on the NICHD Study of Early Child Care, as well as on the Advisory Boards of the Fred Rogers Center, Jumpstart and Disney Junior.

Dr. Hirsh-Pasek has published twelve books as well as more than 200 other publications. She is a Fellow of the American Psychological Association and the American Psychological Society, and the President Elect of the International Society for Infant Studies.

Dr. Hirsh-Pasek received her bachelor’s degree from the University of Pittsburgh and her Ph.D. from the University of Pennsylvania. She is the recipient of many awards, including the American Psychological Association’s Bronfenbrenner Award, the American Psychological Association’s Award for Distinguished Service to Psychological Science, the Association for Psychological Science James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award and the APA Distinguished Lecturer Award. Dr. Hirsh-Pasek is frequently sought to share her scientific insights in public media, and she is an invited blogger for the Huffington Post.


Dr. Roberta Golinkoff
Dr. Roberta Michnick Golinkoff holds the H. Rodney Sharp Chair in the School of Education at the University of Delaware, is Professor of Education, and is also a Professor in the Departments of Psychology and Linguistics.

Dr. Golinkoff founded and directs the Child’s Play, Learning and Development Laboratory, the goal of which is to understand how children tackle the amazing feat of learning language. Her major contributions to pioneering science and Educational Neuroscience involve her discoveries about how young children comprehend language and include the benefits of play. Her findings have identified why and how children learn best through play, especially the importance of learning when embedded in a playful context.

Dr. Golinkoff is author of twelve books and many professional articles. She is frequently quoted in newspapers and magazines as a scientific advocate for children and has appeared on Good Morning America and many morning television shows and hundreds of radio programs across the country. Dr. Golinkoff also speaks at conferences and for organizations around the world about children’s development.

Dr. Golinkoff obtained her bachelor’s degree at Brooklyn College, her Ph.D. in Developmental Psychology at Cornell University, and did a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Pittsburgh’s Learning Research and Development Center. Dr. Golinkoff is the recipient of the prestigious John Simon Guggenheim Award as well as the James McKeen Cattell Sabbatical award and, recently, the Association for Psychological Science James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award.